Asking “So What?” Examining the implications of belief.

Gerald R. Baron
12 min readApr 10, 2024
Photo by Ludovic Migneault on Unsplash

About four years ago I started reading and writing on Medium. My first couple of posts were about farming as I was deep into family farm advocacy having created a non-profit group with and for farmers called Save Family Farming. But, my focus quickly turned to questions of science, philosophy and faith. This has been a topic of strong interest throughout most of my then 68 years. In semi-retirement I had time to study, think and write.

The debate about physicalism

I discovered on Medium there was a lively debate involving physicalism and its alternatives. I joined in and most of my 315 posts since then have been related to the claims of physicalists that all of reality consists of particles and forces and that reality can be and must be described by science. Anything outside of that is hardly worth discussing as it is lost in subjectivity and without reality or substance. As a mostly traditional theist and Christian believer, I, of course, disagreed with that overall position. On Medium I found a wide-ranging community of those who oppose the physicalist belief system as well as those who vigorously defend it. Many of those opposing the physicalist (or materialist or naturalist) belief system come at the question from very different belief systems and worldviews than mine, but we found much to agree with…

--

--

Gerald R. Baron

Dawdling at the intersection of faith, science, philosophy and theology.