The Resurrection: Response to Graham Pemberton

Gerald R. Baron
13 min readApr 16, 2021
Photo by Robin Benzrihem on Unsplash

One of the greatest benefits of writing on Medium is engaging with others, some who share your ideas and perspectives and others who do not. Almost since I started posting (now up to almost 75 posts), I have greatly enjoyed and appreciated the interchange with Graham Pemberton, one of the more insightful and thoughtful writers on the same topics that interest me, mostly the space where science and faith meet.

I recently shared my thoughts on Easter and expressed my conviction in the historical truth of the resurrection. Graham responded to that with a detailed and intriguing challenge to that belief. As I pointed out that the truth matters more to me than anything, he invited my response. I would much prefer to focus on the vast area of common ground between Graham and myself, but as he has asked me to respond, I would consider it rude if I didn’t.

I will address these thoughts directly to Graham.

First, thank you very much Graham for your response and particularly for your respectful tone and I believe a sincere desire to explore this area. I think I have gained some level of your respect in dealing with the issues of science and faith. So my conviction about the resurrection may have taken you a bit by surprise. I can almost hear you thinking: “Sheesh, I thought this Baron guy was a decent thinker and now he…

--

--

Gerald R. Baron

Dawdling at the intersection of faith, science, philosophy and theology.